© National Museum of Romanian History © National Museum of Romanian History © National Museum of Romanian History

Name of Object:

The peace treaty of Bucharest


Bucharest, Romania

Holding Institution:

National Museum of Romanian History

 About National Museum of Romanian History, Bucharest

Date of Object:

28 May 1812


The peace treaty that ended the Russo-Ottoman war of 1806-1812 was signed by the representatives of Russia and the Ottoman Empire in Bucharest, the capital of Wallachia, on the 28 May 1812. Both Wallachia and Moldavia had been occupied by Russia during the war. According to the third article of the peace treaty the Russian army had to liberate Wallachia and the Moldavian territory on the right side of the Prut River. The fourth article stipulated that Russia annexed the territory situated on the left side of the Prut, which became the new border between the Ottoman and the Russian Empires. The new area incorporated into the Russian Empire was given the name Bessarabia, which had in the past designated southern Moldavia.

Citation of this web page:

"The peace treaty of Bucharest" in "Sharing History", Museum With No Frontiers, 2024. https://sharinghistory.museumwnf.org/database_item.php?id=object;AWE;rm;38;en

MWNF Working Number: RO 038

Related Content

 Timeline for this item

View Document Files

On display in

MWNF Galleries



As PDF (including images) As Word (text only)