Palais-Musée du Bardo
Le Bardo, Tunis, Tunisia
Institut national du Patrimoine
The museum occupies just a part of the entire Palais du Bardo, a collection of buildings constructed from the early 15th century onwards. It was built in the style of Andalusian princely residences, but also shows traces of North African Tunisian and Italian architectural influences dating to the Husainid period when it underwent a series of modifications. The museum was opened and received its first archaeological collections on 7 May 1888 by the Bey of Tunisia and the French Resident-General. It remains, to this day, one of the most important archaeological museums in the world, and is particularly renowned for its excellent collection of Roman mosaics.
The Musée du Bardo receives more than 500,000 visitors each year. It is divided into three floors, each holding thousands of exceptionally valuable items, all of which tell the story of a country at the crossroads of multiple civilisations. Visitors can admire mosaics on the floors and walls, the statues, funerary steles, ceramics, jewellery, works of art and bronze and marble sculptures, ranging from the prehistoric era to Punic, Roman and Byzantine times.
Saloua Khadhar Zangar "Palais-Musée du Bardo" in "Sharing History", Museum With No Frontiers, 2022. https://sharinghistory.museumwnf.org/database_item.php?id=monument;awe;tn;1;en
Prepared by: Saloua Khadhar Zangar
Translation by: Flaminia Baldwin
MWNF Working Number: TN 001
On display in
Sharing History Exhibition(s)Migrations | Privateering And Captivity In The Mediterranean | Overview Rediscovering The Past | The Formation Of Museums | Museums In The Arab And Ottoman World
DownloadAs PDF (including images) As Word (text only)